Home of the cyberpunk Audio Drama series, Edict Zero – FIS & other features from Slipgate Nine Entertainment

Edict Zero – FIS – EP304 – “The Quondam Heart (I)”

EDICT ZERO – FIS – Season 3
Episode 4 – “The Quondam Heart (I)”

#CREDITS#

VOICES:

James Keller, Tanja Milojevic, Robert Cudmore, Chris Barnes, David Collins-Rivera, and Jack Kincaid.

EXPANDED VOICE CREDITS

Captain Socrates ____________________ Jack Kincaid
Special Agent Nick Garrett __________ James Keller
Ambassador & various others _________ Jack Kincaid
Jimmy “Doommaker” Prime _____________ Chris Barnes
Gage “Troglobyte” Klemens ___________ David Collins-Rivera
Gemini “Cryptopunk” McCade __________ Tanja Milojevic
Spoon _______________________________ Robert Cudmore

SOUND FX:

Collective Slipgate Nine Studio Resources, ERH, The Free Sound Project, RHumphries, Nine Inch Nails (remixed multi-track effects and drone derivatives), freesfx.co.uk (gr8sfx, robbridget, mckinney), selections from the Public Domain & Free Sound Internet Resources.

MUSIC/AMBIENCE (SUMMARY):

Nine Inch Nails, Kevin MacLeod, machinimasound.com,
ERH, Jason Shaw, How To Destroy Angels, and Fear of None.

MUSIC/AMBIENCE (NOTES):

The “Edict Zero – FIS – Theme” tracks and all their derivative mixes–which are interwoven through each episode–are remixes of ’26 Ghosts III’, from the CC-licensed Ghosts I-IV by Nine Inch Nails. Also, many of the sound effects and special ambiences (i.e. scene headers) heard in Edict Zero – FIS are derived from samples from the hundreds of Nine Inch Nails multitracks made available at remix.nin.com.

Additional attribution:

Off The Ledge, Scene 1, music by Kevin MacLeod and Jason Shaw.

Through The Hidden Wall, includes “Head Down” by Nine Inch Nails.

Interwoven throughout ep:

“Ghosts of Edict Zero” & “Extended Ballad of Intrigue”, Special Remix of ’26 Ghosts III’ by Nine Inch Nails, and other music by How To Destroy Angels, Natalie Nicole Gilbert, and Jack Kincaid.

“The Dire Ambassador” — medley/remix of Hungarian Rhapsody and “34 Ghosts IV” by Nine Inch Nails.

Vectors Unknown, Scene 2, includes music & ambience by Kevin MacLeod, machinimasound.com, and Nine Inch Nails.

The Quondam Heart, Scene 3, includes music by Kevin MacLeod, ERH, Nine Inch Nails, and Jason Shaw.

Reframing Reality, Scene 4, includes music by music by Kevin MacLeod and Jason Shaw.

The Shadow Group, Scene 5, includes music by Kevin MacLeod, machinimasound.com, How To Destroy Angels, and ERH.

An Encounter in Weirdspace, Scene 6, includes music by Kevin MacLeod and “Intervention” by Fear of None.

JPVennardo Test Sim 7 Sandbox, Scene 7, includes music by Kevin MacLeod and ERH.

Written and produced by Jack Kincaid.

Dialogue includes quotes from Heraclitus, Sir Walter Scott, Sir Thomas Osbert Mordaunt, Lord Byron, and John Milton.

DOWNLOAD: Edict Zero – FIS – EP304 – “The Quondam Heart (I)”









10 responses

  1. Pingback: Edict Zero – EP304 – “The Quondam Heart (I)” – iTunes | Edict Zero - FIS

  2. PB

    Hey Jack

    it`s wonderful to hear my two favorite “Edict Zero”- characters (the ‘Captain’ & Agent G.) again – that really made my day on Monday evening!

    As you know, I admire your “many” talents (your creative writing style, your knowledge of sound production, etc.), but your humor is “priceless”! Sometimes when I´m completely stressed out, it`s this kind of humor (the ‘Captain’ in search of the “perfect” pan, AI’s “running amok”, etc.) that helps me to de-stress immediately! The older I get, the more I think that “humor” is one of the personality traits that I like most. It`s good when someone is knowledgeable, intelligent, competent, etc., but without humor the hard times in any relationship are even “harder”.

    BTW: This is the “longest” intro I´ve ever heard in any audio production! But it´s the “best”,
    too. It serves its purpose (to remind you of the past episodes) “perfectly” – brilliant job!

    I wish you a nice summer while producing episode 305 (as always, I´m looking forward
    to the release date!)

    Cheers
    Peter

    July 10, 2013 at 8:53 am

  3. Thanks, Peter! I’m thrilled that you approve. As for the long intro, I had some reservations about it, but then decided that they only had to with the length, not the content, which felt just right. Thanks for the kind words and for continuing the EZ ride, even if the releases are infrequent. Cheers! –Jack

    July 10, 2013 at 9:36 pm

  4. Clem

    Thanks for this new episode! I enjoyed a lot listening to Nick’s speculations again.
    Do you ever think about releasing shorter episodes more often? On one side I enjoy the great scope each episode has, but maybe it could be split in smaller chunks belonging to a chapter encompassing it, sort of We’re alive style. It could also facilitate listening for eager fans like me 🙂
    Also, I can’t understand what is the location of the end of the episode: I tried listening several times to the robotic voice but I can’t understand it. (not a native english speaker)
    Thanks again for the episode!

    July 13, 2013 at 12:30 pm

  5. I did consider releasing shorter, more frequent episodes a number of times over the past three years. Artistically, I found that I could not do it. In the long game, I feel that it would cheapen it.

    The header for Scene 7 is:

    WORLDSTEM NETWORK EDZ-6
    JPVENNARDO TESTSIM7

    😉

    Thanks for listening! Cheers.

    July 13, 2013 at 4:07 pm

    • Clem

      Thanks for the explanation!

      July 17, 2013 at 3:35 pm

  6. Dre

    If you made “I’m a man with a pan!!!”one the front and difference notes on the back t-shirts; I would so buy the long sleeve and short sleeve shirts….love it

    July 15, 2013 at 9:03 pm

  7. The Quondam Heart part I is just absolutely fantastic. E0FIS is Far and away the best audio drama currently in production, and is taking its place as one of the Greats of all time. Genre-transcending. I am continually amazed at the sneaky originality of the characters. Mr Garrett is so curious and clever that it’s easy to miss the mania and

    Through engaging dialogue and truly obsessively detailed & masterfully deployed sound design, the lack of oppressive despair in this general setting really endears it to me. With so much doom and pity in sci fi these days, the “sunlight” – however imaginary it may be… it is… refreshing

    July 18, 2013 at 11:03 pm

  8. Much thanks! Comments like these are always reassuring. I hope you like Part 2 as much when it’s released next month. Cheers.

    July 19, 2013 at 6:25 am

  9. Tedb

    At 17:54: “audio pun alert” – mixing in the pan hit sample on the second down beat of the intro audio track – genius! I laughed so hard when I heard it – it was so spot on after the preceding socrates/garret segment. I thought you’d appreciate that even after 2 years, there are other recording geeks out there who really appreciate those subtle but time consuming mixing touches. The shuffling feet during dialog, the ambient office room sounds… panning voice effects hard L or R to keep clarity, the lack of very noticable differences in mics and room ambience across the different voice actor’s tracks… I could go on. But the pan hit was just hilarious. Keep it up!

    December 12, 2015 at 2:45 am

Leave a comment